Skip to main content

Learning Commons: Wheeler Library

Welcome to the OJC Learning Commons

Welcome to Wheeler Library

Wheeler Library provides a variety of services including research assistance and technical support. The library offers a large collection  of print resources including reference, non-fiction, and fiction books, as well as a wide-range of newspapers, magazines and professional journals and DVDs. Reference titles and several full-text databases are available digitally through the library’s website, which is accessible either in-house or remotely.

The Internet, including the OJC computer network, is available through a wireless connection so that students can use their own devices. Learning Commons staff can assist students with course reserves, interlibrary loan, holds, finding and checking-out resources, database login issues, and equipment.

Desktop computers are available for student use, laptops are available for on-campus use, iPads can be checked out for three days, and graphing calculators can be checked out for an entire semester. Students also have access to video cameras, video editing software, and study rooms.

Library instruction and research support are available to orient students to library services including searching the online catalog, accessing research databases, basic Internet searching techniques, and website evaluation.

Library Account

How to Set Up an OJC Library Account

OJC Students

Student information is uploaded to our circulation system each semester allowing you to check out library materials and access additional online catalog features. To check out electronic equipment, you will need to have a signed Electronic Equipment Agreement on file. Please let us know if your contact information has change.

If you are a current student, you can search for articles through the EBSCO Discovery box, or through any of our databases (see A-Z database list). If you are off campus, you may need to enter your S-number and network password for access. If you haven’t changed your password, the default network password is your birthday: MonthDDYYYY (e.g. January151998).

OJC Faculty and Staff

Faculty and staff information is uploaded to our circulation system each semester allowing you to check out library materials and access additional online catalog features. To check out electronic equipment for instructional use, you will need to have a signed Classroom Equipment Agreement on file. To check out electronic equipment for personal use, you will need to have a signed Electronic Equipment Agreement on file.

You can search for articles through the EBSCO Discovery box, or through any of our databases (see A-Z database list). If you are off campus, you may need to enter your S-number and network password for access.

Community Patrons

If you are a member of the community, you will need to come to the library during open hours to complete a short registration form, show a valid photo ID, and complete the application process. Once registered, you will be able to check out library materials (books and DVDs), as well as access the library’s databases while you are on campus. You will also have access to the four open-access computer stations and the iPad bar. We only offer printing services to OJC students and employees.

Expired Accounts

Library accounts are automatically set up to expire on June 30th of the current school year. All library users (students, staff, and community) are welcome to renew their accounts by phone at (719) 384-6882, or in person. Library staff will verify your contact information and renew your account for another year. 

Public Library Information

Public Library Information

Woodruff Memorial Library

The Woodruff Memorial Library is located at 522 Colorado Avenue in La Junta, CO. It is the mission of Woodruff Memorial Library to be vital and dynamic, an open door to opportunity, where people come to be inspired, informed, connected and leave delighted.  In order to best accomplish this mission, library cards are issued to residents and nonresidents free of charge. Click on the link below to learn more:

Getting a Library Card

Access Colorado Digital Consortium

Across Colorado Digital Consortium is an Overdrive eBook collection shared by participating Colorado Libraries, including Woodruff Memorial Library.  The collection has approximately 19,000 items. Another 2,000-4,000 unique additional titles are expected to be purchased each year. The collection includes ebooks, audiobooks, music, videos, and emagazines. To access these sources, you'll need your public library card number.

Search Catalog

EBSCO Discovery Service

Director of the Learning Commons and Educational Resources

 Chelsea Herasingh, Ph.D.

 Director of the Learning Commons and Educational Resources

 1802 Colorado Ave. La Junta, CO 81050

 OJC Learning Commons - 118

 Office: (719) 384-6976

 Email: Chelsea.Herasingh@ojc.edu